Becoming a Teacher on Skillshare

I can’t remember the first time I heard of Skillshare. The site name had shown up a couple of times on the internet when reading blog posts related to passive income. It always stood next to other sited, such as Udemy, which was the first teaching site I ever took a look at.

Udemy seems like a huge site. Classes there can sell for a lot of money and I figured that I wouldn’t be able to put one together by myself. ‘Maybe later,’ I kept telling myself, but we all know what that means.

And then I finally looked up Skillshare. With their monthly teaching challenge, they made it seem very easy to put together a class. I was instantly hooked. As it was the end of July, my next chance to participate would be in August. I couldn’t wait until the first of the month. I thought of a class theme, mentally began to structure the lesson and signed up on the morning of August 1st.

During the last days of July, I did a bit of research online. What is Skillshare about? What tricks do I need to know to be successful? How will I get many followers? And, a very important point to consider, how much money can I expect to make?

Let’s face it, that’s what Skillshare is about. Everyone who puts up their class dreams of making some money. You’ve heard of passive income, haven’t you? It basically means that you get money each month and you don’t have to work for it. The perfect dream.

While I don’t believe that passive income is as passive as some make it sound (there is always a lot of work required, either before you start earning or while you’re earning), I do like the concept of it. Once I put up a class on Skillshare, it’s going to be there forever. Every time someone signs up, I’m going to make money. I expect most sign ups to happen in the first weeks after publishing the class. But if more people enroll in a year or two, I will still make money. And all I have to do is create the class now.

Since I couldn’t find too much information on the internet from people who are successful on Skillshare, I’ve decided to start a blog. I am now starting out. On this site, I will share my journey with you. I’ll talk about obstacles I have to overcome, how long it really takes to create a class and how much money I earn. If I find any useful strategies, I’m going to share them with you.

I can’t wait to begin.

Leave a Reply

