First Challenge: Finding a Class Topic

My first challenge was to find a topic that I was passionate about. Don’t get me wrong, there are a lot of things I love doing. Most of them are travel related, especially when it comes to exotic places. I know that the definition of ‘exotic’ is different for everyone, depending on where you live, but what I mean are those far-away places (and no matter where in the world you are, there will be places that are far away for you). The ones that nobody you know has ever gone to. The ones that are so far off the beaten track, you’re not even sure of how to get there.

Too bad I had no idea how to make a class out of that. Besides, what was I going to teach? Should I make classes for every location I could think of? That’s far too much effort and not enough profit involved. Nobody’s going to watch it.

There’s always the travel hacks that people want to learn about. But you know what? I don’t know anything about them. I live in Europe and it’s not the same for me. Collecting credit card points and using them for free flights won’t work since I’ll still pay a fortune in taxes and fees.

Since travel was out of question, I went back to the August teach challenge description and read through it carefully. And there it was. ‘Publish a crafts, culinary or design class and you’ll receive a $200 new teacher bonus.’ Perfect. I don’t know any crafts that I’m comfortable teaching, I don’t know anything about design but I’m good at cooking.

Recently, I had read about how many people don’t know how to cook and I had quickly found my target audience. There are so many out there who have a kitchen in their home but don’t use it because they don’t know what to do with it. And think of those college kids who are left without a clue of how to prepare their first meal.

This is why I’m going to teach a cooking class for beginners. I’m going to call it ‘Cooking for Beginners – Making Your First Meal from Scratch’ and I’m very excited to get started.

2 thoughts on “First Challenge: Finding a Class Topic

Leave a Reply

