Class Design: Outlining My Class

When I decided on what recipe I was going to teach, I was sitting in a bus to the airport. The first thing I did, just after passing through security, was sitting down at a table and taking out a piece of paper.

I scribbled down my first class outline on the back of a bus ticket.

When I thought of the class, lots of ideas ran through my minds. I’ll need an introduction and a short video in the end to sum it up. I’ll also need to talk about ingredients and equipment and then there are the steps required to cook the meal.

Soon, I had a mess of notes, to which I added ingredients and instructions as they passed my mind.

I think for me, brainstorming was the most important part of my class design. Cooking is very straightforward to teach. I just have to go through every step with my students to make sure they get it right. And I have to think of simple obstacles that I might overlook. For example, is it enough to say that they need one onion? Have you been to a supermarket lately and looked at how many different onions are for sale? How will they know which one to choose?

I’m not sure if I came up with every possible obstacle but I did my best.

Once I was finished brainstorming and was sure that I had all the ingredients and the cooking instructions somewhere on the back of the bus ticket, I put them in the right order. I thought about writing down what exactly I was going to say but then decided against it. I find it easy to tell someone what I’m doing, while I’m doing it.

The introduction and the conclusion videos, on the other hand, were different. I spent the flight writing down a possible version, on the back of my boarding pass because there wasn’t any space left on the bus ticket.

I think I’ll need a notebook to keep things in one place.

But by using only time that would have been wasted otherwise, I managed to outline my class and get an idea of what I was going to say in front of the camera. Skillshare seemed even more likeable to me, at that moment. Up to now, it hasn’t been too much work and I’ve already made a lot of progress on my class. All that’s left is the filming and the editing.

I’ll let you know how that turns out very soon.

Leave a Reply

