Taking Care of Paperwork

Last week, I took care of something incredibly boring. I don’t know how this works in other countries but in Germany, whenever you’re planning on earning money somewhere and you’re self-employed, you have to announce it to the government. Since I don’t have an employer when publishing videos on Skillshare, that meant, that I had to go to an office and fill out a form.

Since it’s a government office, the opening times don’t fit with my regular work schedule. I could have gone there every day from nine to noon but guess what? I have an eight-to-four job which makes those kind of visits impossible. Fortunately, they’re open until six in the evening once a week so last Tuesday, as soon as I was free, I raced there with my bike.

When I arrived, there was a long queue in front of the office. I was lucky, though. It turned out that the self-employment government office is in the same building as the driver’s license office and a couple more offices that I had never heard about.

I’m German. We’ve got to do paperwork for pretty much everything you can imagine and of course, there has to be some kind of office that we have to go to so we can pay money there.

Announcing that I was going to earn money on Skillshare wasn’t free either. I had to pay 26€ which, funny enough, is tax deductible. So I pay it now and then get the money back next year with my tax refund.

Don’t you just love those regulations?

For all the absurdities I had to face, in the end, my visit was shorter and less complicated than I had expected. The guy working at the office was very nice and quickly helped me fill out all the forms.

During the next weeks, I’ll get another form from the tax authorities that I have to fill out. But I don’t have to wait for that form to earn money on Skillshare, they guy reassured me. So I guess that’s it, I’m good to go.

What about you? Do you have any similar paperwork to do in your country? Or am I the only one?

Leave a Reply

